Standing Still

The wind blowing

As I stand still near the lake

The willow tree swaying
As my bones start to break
Not knowing where the journey will take me
But standing alone

Wishing I had gone back inside
To just keep away the fear
Now that I am facing it
Before me, I stand
I close my eyes
And put out my hand

 

Warmth touches my hand
I smile, but that fades away quickly
I open my eyes
You are standing there
Making sure I am warm
You’ve given me everything
That I could ever ask for

I breathe in
Letting the wind blow on its way
No sun did shine on that day
I close my eyes once more
And the nightmares dig in their way
Is it okay to be afraid?

Leave a Reply

