Day 2 (Two): Family

I may not have the best family, but let me tell you some about them. My father and mother divorced when I was 6. Mother took my younger brother and myself, and father took my second older sister, while my grandmother (Dad’s mom), took my oldest. When I was 7, my mother left my brother and I at my other grandma’s (Mom’s mom). She raised me until I was 17 and I left home.

I am one out of seven children. I have 3 brothers and 3 sisters. Am I close with my family? No, but I am close with my grandmother, the woman who raised me. I am still in the process of getting close with the rest of my family members. Those include my younger 4 siblings and my grandmother (Dad’s mom).

I’ve been putting this post off for awhile because I didn’t know what I wanted to write about. Family is suppose to be there for you, as you are suppose to be there for them. I sometimes think that I am mentally screwed up because I never had any family there for me other than my younger brother and my grandma, the woman who raised me who I am today.

I call her every day. I know she likes it, even if it is a short five minute talk. She’s older and I know she doesn’t have many people to talk to. I don’t have many people to talk to. She keeps me up to date with the family news, and I keep her up to date with my life here in Georgia. Now, would she ever fly to see me? No, but I would do it for her if I had the money.

I will say this, the family that I have gotten to know…They are Tony’s family. Everyone from his parents, grand parents, aunt, and younger brothers have been just the best to me. I know I’m not the best person in the world, but they treat me like I am.

Sometimes, I don’t know what to say or I say something that I just end up regretting later. But they do not hold me to that. They love me for who I am. I love them too!

They have become part of my heart, my life, and my family.

“Are we going to see your family today Tony?” I would say.
“No, we are going to see our family today.” He would say back.

I just wanted to say thank you.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

